Food and health experts say more and more people are adopting some type of vegetarian diet, but what they choose to eat and not eat depends on what type of vegetarian they want to be.

Vegetarian Diet

Vegetarian Diet

There are different kinds of vegetarians, depending on what they eat. The phrase a vegetarian that’s most widely accepted by fellow vegetarians is really a person who eats no meat, fish, or poultry. A vegetarian consistently avoids all flesh foods, as well as byproducts of meat, fish, and poultry. Vegetarian diets are the super restrictive vegan style of vegetarianism to the more liberal flexitarian diet which includes limited amounts of meat.

Many people express an interest in consuming a vegetarian diet try not to do so because they are unsure of how you can do it or are not prepared to give up meat. Fortunately, there are options and a lot of great resources available to help.

The important thing to making this diet work for you would be to understand what nutrients you are missing in the foods that you are not consuming and to learn to balance your meals without these foods. Here’s how you can understand the different options available to you whenever you choose to go vegetarian.


Technically, the term vegan describes more than just the diet alone. A vegan is really a vegetarian who avoids eating or using all animal products, including meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy products, any foods containing by-products of those ingredients, wool, silk, leather, and then any nonfood items made with animal byproducts. Some vegans avoid honey.


People who adopt a lacto-vegetarian diet refrain from all meat products, including eggs, but continue to eat dairy products. The advantage to this type of vegetarianism is you’re less likely to develop a calcium deficiency because of the inclusion of calcium rich milk products.

Lacto-ovo Vegetarian

Lacto-ovo vegetarians don’t consume red meat, white meat, fish or fowl. However, lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume dairy products and egg products. This is actually the most common type of vegetarian.


The macrobiotic diet, revered by some because of its healthy and healing qualities, includes unprocessed vegan foods, such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and permits the occasional consumption of fish. Sugar and delicate oils are avoided. Perhaps the most unique qualifier of the macrobiotic diet is its focus on the consumption of Asian vegetables, such as daikon, and sea vegetables, such as seaweed.

Different Kinds Of Vegetarians

Different Kinds Of Vegetarians


One of the least restrictive forms of vegetarianism may be the pescatarian lifestyle where you avoid all meat products except for fish. Many people don’t consider pescatarians to be real vegetarians since they allow themselves to consume seafood. They also consume dairy products and eggs.


A plant-based diet using the occasional meat item on the menu. These individuals do their best to limit meat intake whenever possible and they have an almost entirely plant-based diet. This isn’t technically considered a “vegetarian” diet, but we commend your time and effort!